Living Loved Communities


The vision
June 29, 2010, 1:50 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

My goal is to create an environment where people are encouraged to explore and live their path of living loved by God so that they can more easily share their gifts and live as God intended them to.  It has been said that environment is stronger than will power. I believe that if people are surrounded by other who have a desire to live loved, they can all make quantum leaps in their ability to be the person they and God wants them to be.  People can also heal from their past hurts in an atmosphere of unconditional love and get the positive and healthy aspects of community that they were wanting to get from a church community which is often dysfunctional.

I envision a  community where people who are leaving the institutional church and doing their best to live loved can own their own homes on their own  parcel of land. A community center and common land can serve as a gathering place for people who want to cooperate on various levels including sharing meals; growing food and livestock; creating cottage industries; running a retreat center  and much more.

I am in the process of creating a governing structure where people over see the village/community with maximum amount of freedom and rules that only make the community as safe as possible. This structure is like the banks of a river which makes it possible for the river (which I liken to the Holy Spirit) can flow freely. In my thirty years of experience with working with groups, no structure or rules enable people who want to take control to do so.

Living loved by God  is a concept that I learned from first reading the book THE SHACK and then listening to The God Journey podcasts by Wayne Jacobson and Brad Cummings in February of 2008. This was a paradigm shift in the way I looked at and experienced God which completely changed my life.

Community is something I have been yearning to live in since I discovered a movement called Intentional Communities back in 1975 when I was twenty years old.  I had a wonderful experience living in East Wind Community with my five year old son in 1994. Although my stay ended because of tragic misunderstandings. I still got a taste of how rich and nurturing the environment of community could be in day to day living.

I now co-own land with family near Living Springs. There are mostly Christians living in a neighborhood called Living Springs. In spite of many shortcomings, this place where we have lived for the past 7 years has been a safe environment where our kids could grow up with friends who have similar values.

I have recently discovered beautiful land that would be ideal for a community which is located about 1/2 hour from Fayetteville, where I also live part time. I am helping the owner promote it because I would prefer that someone buy it who has dreams of community. I would love to have a  community in Northwest Arkansas where people who are living love can encourage each other. You can learn more about this land here.

With 64 acres, a large house and out buildings; plenty of farm land and forest with natural air conditioning, and excellent well, and on the grid for now–it has amazing potential for immediate move in for a core group of people who share this vision.

My dream is that someone will want to buy the land which needs to be sold soon so that it won’t go into foreclosure. For only $139,000 it is an amazing deal for a start up community.

You can find more about the land here.

Since I learned about the concept of  intentional community in 1974 when I was twenty years old, I have always dreamed of living in such a place. An intentional community is where people live together in all kinds of ways in order to cooperate and enrich each others lives.  I have spent countless hours studying about how to create successful communities. i have lived, visited, and communicated with members of  intentional communities.

I am ready to use all my experience in creating a structure that encourages people to freely and extravagantly  live in love–and I intend to find others who share this vision who can help refine the structure.  I hope that many will join me in this endeavor.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

